December Mini-Challenges, Nature Study

DSCN9352The last couple of days I have been working through the Mini- Challenges over at Handbook Of Nature Study –

When I saw “mini-challenges” I thought we’d be making quick trips to parks with the boys to feed the birds – what I found – was a list of mini-challenges for me – the teacher.

DSCN9332We are taking these few weeks before January to rebuild our learning centers around the home, re-evaluate the curriculum and tools that we have been using and neglecting – and find tools that will help me keep the boys on track – Google Calendar? Homeschool Planners?

So- it has been a joy to snag quiet moments, feet propped up on the dog, tea in hand to highlight the dog eared pages of my one year old book – Anna Botsford Comstock’s Handbook of Nature Study.  Challenge Number 1 – Read through pages 1-8, highlight favorite quotes, and share with the rest of the class.

DSCN9303I can tell you that the first 24 pages of this book have several pencil and pen underlines, arrows, written notes, and post it tabs – so I picked a Pink Highlighter to see what quotes still inspired me.  . . . .Well – Short of flat out copying all 8 pages word for word – here are my pink spots –

Nature-study is, despite all discussions and perversions, a study of nature; it consists of simple, truthful observations that may, (create a string of knowledge). . . the object of nature-study teacher should be to cultivate in the children powers of accurate observation and to build up within them understanding. pg1

DSCN9348When we started our nature journals – it was a challenge to have the boys draw what the SEE instead of what they thought a graphic should look like – clip art style. They are both really turned around in this area – drawing detail that the eye sees, instead of what the mind creates.

. . . nature-study cultivates in him a perception and a regard for what is true, and the power to express it.  Perhaps half the falsehood in the world is due to lack of power to detect the truth and to express it. pg1 (remembering this is copyright 1911)

 

DSCN9274pg 4 – They never lost confidence in me (not knowing all the answers) or in my knowledge; they simply gained respect for the vastness of the unknown. The Chief charm of nature –study would be taken away if it did not lead us through the borderland of knowledge into the realm of the undiscovered.

The Last Child In the Woods tells us that the greatest detriment to the nature study right now is all of the written and visual information available to kids of this generation. They think they know all there is to know about the out of doors – without going outside.

 

DSCN9325pg 6 If nature-study is made a drill, its pedagogic value is lost. (Pedagogic – Greek for Child Led – to Lead the child – style of instruction)
pg 6 She may be trying to fill the child’s mind with facts when she should be leading him to observe these for himself, which is a most entertaining occupation for the child. . . . .Curiosity may elicit facts, but only real interest may mold these facts into wisdom.

Again – I could just type out all 8 pages.  I encourage you to read through these pages – that seem to relate to teaching in many subjects – not just Nature Study.

DSCN9357What can we as teachers, parents, mentors do – to have our own passions – about life, history, geography, mathematics, writing – and our walk with the Lord – that would lead the child into wanting those passions as well.  What good has it ever done for us for people to present us with a list of Why we should like something – when we have decided we clearly do not need the information or experience? But when you walk along side a friend, hear their joy, hear the triumphs of discovery – it leads you to want to have the same success. Such is true for Nature Study – or any study. For those facts to mold into wisdom, that is my prayer for both boys in all areas of their life.

DSCN9343  DSCN9342
Might be time for some rubber boots. Ya think?

The photos were taken on our forest walk today – the rain has completely saturated the area, the under water reservoirs are so full that they are coming up out of the ground – forming new springs and brooks. We went out to discover the new waterfalls in the area. Smile I feel so blessed to have access to the woods to the east of us! Today it even came to a close with a cup of hot tea for me and mugs of steamy hot cocoa for the boys. Love our Neighbors!

About +Angie Wright

The Transparent Thoughts of an Unschooling Family of Boys - Answering the question - What DO you DO all day?
This entry was posted in Outoor Hour Challenge, Some Schooling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December Mini-Challenges, Nature Study

  1. southernmel says:

    “…our own passions – about life, history, geography, mathematics, writing – and our walk with the Lord – that would lead the child into wanting those passions as well…”
    this is something that I am working on in so many areas…it is contagious to see someone else’s manifestations of something they are interested in or care very much about…i have to allow time to educate myself, explore my interests, create, etc. if my children are to ever become passionate about things for themselves…

    we’re off to explore our December world a little more today! Thanks for sharing yours!
    Melissa

  2. Love the squishy mud photos! You should see my copy of the HNS….it might be time to start over with a new copy with all the underlines, highlights, and notes in the old one it is hard to read. My copy also split down the middle at the spine so it really is cumbersome to read. 🙂

    I just wonder how much longer I will be using my copy. I only have one more year to homeschool (she says with a little quiver in her voice).

    Loved reading your excerpts and I am so looking forward to watching your next season on nature study. Thanks so much for sharing your December World.

I love to hear from my readers, I appreciate comments!