March Moss Studies

P1040296

I have a confession to make. A secret really. A passion since I’ve been young. 

I like to pet moss. Hovering my hand over the forest’s silky carpet. I love it when the little antennas poke out to tickle my fingers. Softly, over the surface, with a smile and my eyes closed.

P1040302

I feel much better now. Telling you my weird forest habits. This month Moss is our Nature Focus.  We followed along with the projects on The OHC #42 Moss and Lichen last Friday. On that Outdoor Challenge there is a ling to “The Life Cycle of Moss”. Which I thought was weird.  One doesn’t see the “life cycle of carrots” on websites. We clicked over out of curiosity. WOW! We had no idea how these little guys grow. I found out that my antennas that I love so much are the seed holders of sorts for the moss! We had to rush out to the forest to find some.

P1040303

P1040307

P1040311

P1040312

P1040314

P1040316

Oops. We got distracted with all of the mushrooms, moss and lichen in the forest next to our property.  We brought our seed pods back in the house and looked at them under a hand held magnifying lens.  I have the microscope out for today’s studies, I’d like to look closer.

P1040325P1040319

We’ve been looking for forms of fungi everywhere we go – found quite a few conks at the beach the other day –

P1040356

I’ll try to get photos of our notebooking pages with the lifecyle. We wrote down the key vocabulary words of the parts of the moss and it’s reproductive system/cycle. We’ll use the notebook page from today’s Outdoor Hour Challenge to draw it out and describe the piece in more descriptive detail.

Perfect fun indoor activity on a rainy, misty, foggy coastal afternoon!

About +Angie Wright

The Transparent Thoughts of an Unschooling Family of Boys - Answering the question - What DO you DO all day?
This entry was posted in Outoor Hour Challenge, Some Schooling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to March Moss Studies

  1. Anonymous says:

    I feel the same exact way!

  2. Dana says:

    I always have to take off my shoes and feel the moss with my feet. Weird, huh?

  3. Carla G. says:

    Beautiful images of a magical world! You understand it better now, though don’t you? It still appears like a magical world to me. Good microscope use!

  4. Makita says:

    Beautiful!! Inspired me to break out the microscope! 🙂

  5. Alex says:

    I feel the same way about moss. I have to touch it when I see it, and I have been like that since I was a little girl 🙂
    Great post!

  6. So enjoyed seeing all your moss/lichen/mushroom images in this entry…I love hearing how you get so excited about certain aspects and then run with it….you have your own little lab right outside your door for this moss study. Thanks for sharing your enthusiasm with the blog carnival.

  7. mummyshymz says:

    Beautiful pictures! Especially those under the magnifying class!

  8. What gorgeous photos! Love this nature study.

I love to hear from my readers, I appreciate comments!